Deutsch

flagge usa flagge frankreich “EINE DYNAMISCHE FUSION VON AFRIKANISCHEN MUSIKSTILEN UND MODERNEM JAZZ” 

Sonja Kandels Band / Die Musiker

Mark Reinke, der langjährige Wegbegleiter während Sonjas Berliner Zeit, mit dem sie auch ihr letztes Album Fortunes Arrive aufnahm. Reinke arbeitete mit der israelischen Sängerin Efrat Alony oder auch Katja Riemann zusammen, komponierte für Big Bands und arbeitete unter dem amerikanischen Regiseur Robert Wilson als musikalischer Leiter am Theater.

Hans Lüdemann, „Einer der großen Pianisten des Jazz“ (Hessischer Rundfunk) oder laut Jazz Podium Magazin „einer der eigenwilligsten und ausdrucksstärksten europäischen Pianisten“. In verschiedenen Formationen bereist er seit vielen Jahren Festivals in der ganzen Welt und spielt mit Jan Garbarek und Toumani Diabate.

Stefan Rademacher, der langjährige Bassist von Billy Cobham. Mit seinem einzigartigen Sound avancierte er zu einem international gefragten Musiker. Am elektrischen und akustischen Bass begleitete er in Live- und Studioproduktionen u.a. George Duke, Gary Husband, Don Grusin, Randy Brecker, Lee Ritenour und Chaka Khan.

Harald Ingenhag, profilierter Schlagzeuger und Body-Percussionist unzähliger Live-, Studio- und Rundfunk/TV-Produktionen, u.a. Thomas-Kessler-Group, Trio Cattleya, Ali Haurand, Xaver Fischer, Buddy Casino, Pablo Held.

Christian Thomé, dessen feinsinnige Begleitung am Schlagzeug die WAZ lobt: „geradezu ein Genie im Einsatz filigraner, oft elektronisch veredelter Klangtupfer“.

Awale Ouro Akpo aus Togo, genannt Paply, der Zuhörer wie Zuschauer mit seinen Djémbé-Trommelkaskaden begeistert.

Mit seinem eigenhändig geschaffenen Balafon ist der einer Griot-Familie entstammende Ivorer Aly Keita seit langem der international gefragteste Balafonist. Ganzjährig auf Tour in Europa, Amerika und Asien, spielte er unter anderem mit dem indischen Perkussionisten Trilok Gurtu, der Sängerin Rokia Traoré oder dem legendären Joe Zawinul. Er ist so gut wie auf allen Afrika-Festivals in Europa zu Hause, und wenn er gerade frei ist, gewinnt er den Creole Weltmusik-Preis. Oder – er kommt nach Kempen, um seine laufende Tour mit den drei afrikanischen Vokalistinnen, Dobet Gnahoré, Zap Mama Bassistin Manu Gallo, und Karayce Fotso zu unterbrechen und mit seiner langjährigen musikalischen Partnerin Sonja Kandels auf der Bühne zu stehen.


Gastmusiker aus Westafrika:

Mit seiner herzlichen und offenen Art begeistert der senegalesische Sänger und Tanzlehrer Issa Sow. Als Mitglied des Ballett du Senegal reist er um die ganze Welt und singt und erzählt zum Beispiel vom Komodougou, einem traditionellen Tanz, mit dem Männer die Frauen verführen, oder dem populären und feurigen Mbalax. Pape Samory Seck stammt aus einer senegalischen Griot-Famile und gilt als einer der gefragtesten Perkussionisten afrikanischer Rhythmen. (Djembé, Djoun Djoun, Sabar, Serouba, Bougarabou, Asico und Tama (Talking Drum). An ihrer Seite die feiurige Tänzerin Hélène Sagna, ebenfalls aus Senegal.

Der kongolesische Singer-Songwriter Bernard Mayo, musikalischer Partner von Salif Keita, Lokua Kanza.

Der kamerunische Jazztrompeter Terrence Ngassa.


Musiker und SängerInnen in South Africa:

Themba Mokoena (g), Robert Payne (p), Sphelelo Mazibuko (dr), Thembinkosi Mavimbela (b),

(perc:) Ngari El Hadj Ndong, Johnson Ahiable,

(choir:) Khwezi Ndlela, Bonginkosi Zondo, Toto Bubazane, Thuli Mdlalose, Hlengiwe Maqazi, Majola Majola, Nthabiseng Thejane, Ntuthuko Khambule


Frühere Aufnahmen und Live-Konzerte:

Der 2014 verstorbene Samba Sock galt als Meister an der Talking Drum, Conga und Bougarabou, als ein Künstler der gekonnt traditionelle und moderne afrikanische Musik mit Elementen des Soul, Salsa und Funk vermischte. In Dakar geboren begann er seine musikalische Karriere im Alter von 17 Jahren als Mitglied des “Orchestra Gala Yabe” mit Bira Guèye (Saxophon). In den 60ern spielte er auf vielen Festivals, darunter das erste “Festival Mondial des Arts Nègres”. Auf der “Semaine de la Jeunesse” belegte er 1968 den ersten Platz. In den folgenden Jahren spielte Samba in verschiedenen Formationen: “Moulin Rouge”, “Madison” und “Diarame Orchestra”. Schließlich interessierte er sich für die europäische Musikszene und zog nach Berlin, wo er von Regisseur Peter Stein eingeladen wurde, an der Schaubühne am Lehniner Platz die zwei Theaterstücke “Circoncition” and “Shango” zu entwickeln. Parallel tourte er mit verschiedenen Formationen und Produktionen wie z.B. seine Band “Sangomar”, mit den Stücken “Porgy and Bess”, “Saraba” und “The Guardians of the Groove”, sein Percussion-Project “SafSap”, “Samba Sock and Gala Yabe Dance”, oder “Super Dadjée”. In einem Portrait, das die Arbeit von Samba Sock und Dudu Toutsi dokumentiert beschrieb das ZDF ihn als einen der bedeutendsten Perkussionisten unserer Zeit.

Der in Kamerun geborene Pariser Musiker Félix Sabal Lecco ist ein wahrer Monsterdrummer, spielt einen Mix aus Funk, Hip-hop, Afro, Fusion und Jazz. Seine Karriere liest sich wie ein Who’s who der Pop- und Jazzwelt, darunter Tourneen mit Sting, Peter Gabriel, Paul Simon, Herbie Hancock, France Gall, Alan Stivell, Michel Jonasz, Sade, Youssou N’Dour, Miriam Makeba und Manu Dibango.

Im Alter von 4 Jahren saß Daniel Schroeteler zum ersten Mal hinter einem Schlagzeug. Mit einem Abschluss an der Hogeschool door de Kunsten in Arnheim wurde er nominiert für den Roos-Gesink-Award. Daniel unterrichtet an Universitäten in Mainz, Arnheim und Köln und er spielt in verschiedenen Jazz-Formationen wie z.B. Christian-Weidner-Trio, Henning-Berg-Quartet, Werner-Neumann-Quartet, Matthias-Haus-Ensemble, mit Supdiver, TITZ, and Talking Jazz (Till Brönner, Dieter Ilg, Charlie Mariano, Martin Sasse) oder mit Antonis Anissegos, Hayden Chisholms, Marla Glen und Sonja Kandels.

Armin Metz ist ein bekannter Bassist in der Weltmusikszene. Stilistisch reichen seine Live- und Studioproduktionen von Drum’n’Base und Electro zu House und Trance (Chiva Chandra’s mastermind Daniel Vernunft). Mit seinem ganz eigenen Stil entwickelte er sich zu einem gefragten Begleitmusiker auf Bühnen und in Studios, u.a. für Talvin Singh, Anandan Sivamani, Louis Banks, Felix Sabal-Lecco, Yogeshwara, Tunji Beier, Tim Deluxe, Hossam Shaker, Anuradha Krishnamurthi, Christina Lux und Sonja Kandels.

The Band

flagge frankreich  deutschland_flagge_fahne  A DYNAMIC FUSION OF TRADITIONAL AFRICAN SOUNDS AND MODERN JAZZ”

On recent performances, Sonja has been accompanied by:

Mark Reinke began experimenting with the piano at the age of six. He studied Jazz piano in Arnheim, Netherlands, at Hanns Eisler College of Music in Berlin and at Berklee College of Music Boston with Rob van den Broek, Aki Takase, Steve Gray and Richie Beirach.

Mark is working as a musical director and piano player in various formations and theater productions, such as with the Efrat Alony Quartet, Katja Rieman, Hermano Lobo, Tilman Ehrhorn and Johannes Haage, or at the play “Saints and Singing”, directed by American director Robert Wilson.

Hans Luedemann, “one of the great piano players in jazz” (Radio HR, Hessischer Rundfunk), or as praised by Jazz Podium Magazine, “one of the most sophisticated and expressive European piano players.” In varying formations, he is on tour around the world and playing with Jan Garbarek, Toumani Diabate and Aly Keita.

Over many years, Stefan Rademacher has been calling attention through his bass playing for the great Billy Cobham. Due to his unique sound, he advanced to one of the most reputed bass players from Germany. With his electric and acoustic basses he has been performing (among others) with George Duke, Gary Husband, Don Grusin, Randy Brecker, Lee Ritenour, and Chaka Khan.

Harald Ingenhag, high-profile drummer and body percussion player for countless live-, studio- und radio/TV recordings, amongst others Thomas-Kessler-Group, Trio Cattleya, Ali Haurand, Xaver Fischer, Buddy Casino, Pablo Held.

Christian Thomé’s multifaceted and colorful drumming remains incomparable. German newspaper WAZ praises his subtle backing and calls him “a real genius when it comes to using filigree, often electronically sublimated sound dots.” Thanks to his experimental and innovative playing, every gig with him is a surprise..

The grandmaster of balafone, Ivory Coast musician Aly Keita is a cornerstone for African jazz music. Born into a Malinké family in Abidjan, he was initiated into playing this instrumental ancestor of xylophone and marimba by his father. Today, Aly sees his balafon first and foremost as a work of art, while his playing made him the “king” of musical tuning; by adding different sized calabash resonators he keeps customizing his string and wood instrument, making it sound like no other balafon on earth.

He becomes a part of his instrument, caresses it with tenderness, strikes it with force and great speed. He is a magician who expresses the joy of life through his piece of art. On concerts in Europe, Africa, and USA, he has been performing with Trilok Gurtu, Joe Zawinul, Rokia Traoré, Pharaoh Sanders, Rhoda Scott, Camel Zekri, Lukas Ligeti, Gilles Renne, Philippe Sellam, Linley Marte, Etienne M’Bape, Michel Donéda, Xavier Charles, Sekouba Bambino, Paco Séry, Talib Kibwé, Masahiro Sayama, Akétagawa Shoji, Bernard Zadi, Hans Lüdemann, Paco Séry, Paolo Fresu, Manu Solo.

Awale Ouro Akpo from Togo a.k.a. Paply, a constant companion of Sonja’s shows who enthuses the audience with his djembe drumming cascades.


Among Sonja’s guests from West Africa:

Senegalese musicians and dancers Issa Sow, who is traveling around the world with his Ballet du Senegal, talking and singing about traditional dances like Komodougou or Mbalax, Pape Samory Seck from a Griot family, one of the most recognized African percussion players (Djembé, Djoun Djoun, Sabar, Serouba, Bougarabou, Asico und Tama (Talking Drum), along with fiery Senegalese dancer Hélène Sagna.

Singer/songwriter Bernard Mayo, musical partner for Salif Keita, Lokua Kanza.

Jazz-trumpet player Terrence Ngassa from Cameroon.


Musicians & singers in South Africa:

Themba Mokoena (g), Robert Payne (p), Sphelelo Mazibuko (dr), Thembinkosi Mavimbela (b),

(perc:) Ngari El Hadj Ndong, Johnson Ahiable,

(choir:) Khwezi Ndlela, Bonginkosi Zondo, Toto Bubazane, Thuli Mdlalose, Hlengiwe Maqazi, Majola Majola, Nthabiseng Thejane, Ntuthuko Khambule


Former recordings:

The late Samba Sock was a master of the talking drum, conga, and bougarabou – an artist who combined traditional and modern African music with elements of soul, salsa, and funk. Born in Dakar, he started his career as a musician at the age of 17, playing with the “Orchestra Gala Yabe” with Bira Guèye (Saxophon). He took part in several festivals throughout the sixties, played on the first “Festival Mondial des Arts Nègres” and won the first prize at the “Semaine de la Jeunesse” in 1968. In the following years he played in different bands: “Moulin Rouge”, “Madison”, and “Diarame Orchestra”. Performing on various other festivals, he became interested in the European music scene and went to Berlin, where he was hired by director Peter Stein to initiate two theatre-music play called “Circoncition” and “Shango” at the “Schaubühne am Lehniner Platz”. He later toured with various formations and productions, such as his band “Sangomar”, with the play “Porgy and Bess”, “Saraba”, “The Guardians of the Groove”, his percussion project “SafSap”, “Samba Sock and Gala Yabe Dance”, or “Super Dadjée”. Samba deceased in 2014. In a portrait documenting the work of Samba Sock and Dudu Toutsi, TV-channel ZDF announced him as one of today’s most important percussion players.

Originally from Cameroon, now Paris-based musician Felix Sabal Lecco is a real monster drummer, playing a mix of funk, hip-hop, Afro, fusion, and jazz. His career reads like a who’s who of pop and jazz and includes world tours with Sting, Peter Gabriel, Paul Simon, Herbie Hancock, France Gall, Alan Stivell, Michel Jonasz, Sade, Youssou N’Dour, Miriam Makeba, and Manu Dibango.

At the age of four, Daniel Schroeteler placed himself behind a drum set for the first time. Having graduated at Hogeschool door de Kunsten in Arnheim, he was nominated for the Roos-Gesink-Award. Besides working at Universities in Mainz, Arnheim, and Cologne, Daniel is playing in various jazz formations, such as with Christian-Weidner-Trio, Henning-Berg-Quartet, Werner-Neumann-Quartet, Matthias-Haus-Ensemble, with Supdiver, TITZ, and Talking Jazz (Till Brönner, Dieter Ilg, Charlie Mariano, Martin Sasse) or with Antonis Anissegos, Hayden Chisholms, Marla Glen and Sonja Kandels.

Armin Metz is a well known bass player in the world music scene, while stylistically his live- and studio productions range from D’n’B and electro to house and trance (e.g. with Chiva Chandra’s mastermind Daniel Vernunft). Having developed his own unique style, his bass soli are in high demand on stages and in studios. Armin works with Talvin Singh, Anandan Sivamani, Louis Banks, Felix Sabal-Lecco, Yogeshwara, Tunji Beier, Tim Deluxe, Hossam Shaker, Anuradha Krishnamurthi, Christina Lux, Sonja Kandels a.o.